Organizational Talent Rankings via Baseball America
2014 (11) | 2013 (21) | 2012 (16) | 2011 (10) | 2010 (10)

2014 Affiliate Records
MLB: [66-96] NL West
AAA: [53-91] Pacific Coast League – Colorado Springs (2015: Albuquerque)
AA: [71-68] Texas League – Tulsa (2015: New Britain)
A+: [43-97] California League – Modesto
A: [89-49] South Atlantic League – Asheville
A(ss): [33-43] Northwest League – Tri-City (2015: Boise)

Graduated Prospects
Tyler Matzek, RHP | Chad Bettis, RHP | Charlie Culberson INF/OF

The Gist
The Rockies are a great system to turn to for big upside fantasy prospects. The fact that a few of these guys will one day call Coors Field their home park only adds to the appeal. If you haven’t bought in already, this might be a good time with several of the top hitters in this system expected to see at bats in the hitting-friendly California League this summer. The same can’t be said for the pitchers in this system, who take a large hit on this fantasy list compared to traditional prospect rankings thanks to the same park situation. Eddie Butler, who made his big league debut in 2014, fell off the list entirely thanks to a shoulder injury. The Rockies will see three new affiliations in 2015 – Albuquerque (AAA), New Britain (AA) and Boise (ss).

Top Ten Fantasy Prospects

1. David Dahl, OF | Age: 20 | ETA: 2016

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
547 83 153 41 8 14 55 5.1% 16.8% 21 5 .299 .335 .492

Dahl has all the tools you want in a fantasy prospect and on top of that he will likely play half of his games at Coors Field. Dahl hits from the left side, and at 20 years old he saw a promotion to the High-A California League in 2014. He only logged 125 plate appearances there, so he’ll return to the Cal League to start 2015. In that hitter-friendly environment he’ll likely thrive and earn another promotion to Double-A at some point this summer. There’s All-Star ceiling in this one, with high-average 20/20 seasons a real possibilty. The buy-low window from his shaky 2013 has probably closed.

2. Raimel Tapia, OF | Age: 21 | ETA: 2017

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
539 93 157 32 1 9 72 6.5% 16.7% 33 16 .326 .382 .453

The Rockies are going to have a nasty outfield in a couple of years if both Dahl and Tapia pan out. Like Dahl, the 21-year-old Tapia has a plus hit tool that could yield high batting averages at the major league level. Right now his other standout tool is his speed, but there could be also be more power that develops as he matures (he did slap 32 doubles and nine homers). This adds up to another 20/20 threat in the thin air of Colorado and I’d want in on both of these guys in fantasy leagues. One blemish is his caught stealing rate, which will hopefully improve with experience. Tapia is also a little farther away than Dahl so he’ll probably spend most (if not all) of the year in the Cal league. Once he’s in that environment, it’s going to cost a pretty penny to pry his bat off of a dynasty owner.

3. Ryan McMahon, 3B | Age: 20 | ETA: 2017

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
552 93 136 46 3 18 102 9.8% 25.9% 8 5 .282 .358 .502

Modesto is going to be stacked in 2015 with McMahon joining the top two players on this list in the California League. McMahon’s 102 runs batted in were tied for the league lead in the Sally in 2014 and his doubles total was only one off of the leader in that category. While the Rockies already have a 23-year-old stud manning the hot corner at the major league level, it’s no reason to avoid McMahon, who could end up being a nice fantasy asset himself. The upside is ~25 homers and a .270-.280 average, but his MLB ETA may not be until late 2017/early 2018. Another left-handed hitter, look for him to put up solid numbers again this year while also working to improve his strikeout rate.

4. Forrest Wall, 2B | Age: 19 | ETA: 2018

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
188 48 50 6 6 3 24 14.4% 17.0% 18 5 .318 .416 .490

The Rockies selected Wall 35th overall in the 2014 draft and he’s yet another prospect in this system with a plus hit tool. The second baseman has double-plus speed and showed it in games with 18 swipes in 188 plate appearances. He’s also a left-handed hitter and the potential is here for a nice fantasy middle infielder with high averages and 25+ stolen bases if everything breaks right. The power is more of a question mark but he could have enough to get to double-digit homers in that park. The drawback is that it’s going to be a while before we see him in the majors and he has a shoulder injury on his resume (part of the reason he’s at 2B). Wall is a borderline first-round pick in dynasty first-year player drafts this winter and just missed the cut on my Top 20 list.

5. Jon Gray, RHP | Age: 23 | ETA: 2015

W L ERA G GS SV IP H R ER HR BB/9 K/9 AVG
10 5 3.91 24 24 0 124.1 107 58 54 10 3.0 8.2 .237

Great stuff, tough park. On any other team, a talented pitcher like Gray would rank higher than this, but just like the hitters get a nice boost from Coors Field, the pitchers take a hit. Gray is armed with an elite fastball and a double-plus slider with the ceiling of a #2 starter. The question is how effective he’ll be in Colorado. With a few other #2 ceiling options in the minors, I’m just not sure he’s worth the price in fantasy. Pitching prospects are a little risky in general, and this home park situation only adds to it. He’ll likely see some time in the majors this year though, and could be a decent stream in road games for the second half.

6. Trevor Story, SS | Age: 22 | ETA: 2016

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
463 69 104 26 8 14 48 13.0% 31.1% 23 5 .263 .367 .475

Story has at least average power and speed, which means there’s the potential for 15 home runs and 15 or more steals from the shortstop position. That’s solid in fantasy, but the problem is his strikeout percentage. It eclipsed the 30% mark for the second straight season. He really struggled with the promotion to Double-A in 2014, where he hit .200 while striking out nearly 35% of the time. So while the power/speed combo from a shortstop at Coors is enticing, his troubles with contact will need to be addressed if he’s going to reach his ceiling.

7. Kevin Padlo, 3B | Age: 18 | ETA: 2018

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
198 32 48 15 4 8 44 15.7% 19.2% 6 1 .300 .421 .594

Padlo had a solid pro debut in 2014, but he also has a distant ETA and both Nolan Arenado and Ryan McMahon ahead of him on the depth chart at third base. The Rockies took him out of high school in the 5th round of the 2014 draft. It’s the combination of plus raw power and plate discipline that make him an exciting fantasy prospect to follow as he advances. He was a shortstop in high school and there is enough defensively for him to stick at third base. If you can wait on him, he makes a decent flier in deep dynasty formats.

8. Kyle Freeland, LHP | Age: 21 | ETA: 2017

W L ERA G GS SV IP H R ER HR BB/9 K/9 AVG
3 0 1.15 10 10 0 39.0 30 8 5 1 1.4 7.6 .213

The same knock on Gray is here with Freeland, but he also has a longer ETA and doesn’t share the lofty ceiling. The Rockies selected the southpaw 8th overall in the 2014 draft and he was excellent in his debut. But combine the longer path of development with the current final destination of Coors Field, and I’ll pass in fantasy. There are quite a few solid arms from the 2014 draft class that find themselves in better pitching environments than Colorado. Any other team and I’d be interested, but until these guys are traded I can’t get too excited about the fantasy potential.

9. Pedro Gonzalez, SS | Age: 16 | ETA: 2019

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG

There’s not much we know about Gonzalez since he’s yet to make his debut here in the States. Baseball America did rank him the #12 international prospect this past summer when the Rockies signed him. The obvious drawback is his extremely long ETA, so he’s more of a lottery ticket in deep formats with very large farms. The good news is that there is physical projection, good contact skills already, and the chance to develop more power as he matures while playing on the left side of the infield. He’s 6’4″ and likely to fill out, so there’s a good chance he’ll end up at third down the road instead of shortstop.

10. Dom Nunez, C | Age: 20 | ETA: 2018

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
198 30 55 12 0 8 40 10.6% 14.1% 5 7 .313 .384 .517

Like Padlo and Gonzalez there is a long way to go here, and with Nunez being a catcher it could take even longer. Still, the left-handed-hitting backstop has at least an average hit tool and should see his first full season of pro ball in 2015 after a successful short-season debut. I wouldn’t rely on Nunez as my sole fantasy catching prospect, but that could change depending on how he develops over the next year or two. His strikeout and walk rates speak to his plate discipline.

Rockies Previews: 2014 | 2013

NL T10 Prospects Index

 
  1. Dan says:
    (link)

    Hey Mike

    Really appreciate your stuff being in a dynasty league..

    Would you trade King Felix (3) for Ozuna (28) and Taijuan (27)?

    All players are attached to round value, 5X5 H2H dynasty

    Here are my 15 keepers:

    Gattis
    Carlos Santana
    Joey Gallo
    Xander
    Myers
    Pederson
    Carlos Gonzalez
    Tanaka
    G. Richards
    Felix
    Latos
    Shields
    Betances
    Chapman
    D Robertson

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      no problem…

      I think you’ve got a decent enough OF, so I’d hold onto Felix just in case Tanaka’s elbow pops

  2. Yescheese says:
    (link)

    Freeland has been growing on me. He has the GB stuff to succeed in COL (indeed he’s from COL I think).

    You noted this of course with both Dahl and Gray, but the COL stigma is incredibly powerful when it comes to trade value. I wonder if Dahl truly isn’t a top 5 prospect…his owners treat him that way!

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      that’s true on Freeland and he’s a nice arm….I could see how he’s tempting to roll the dice on

      I think with some graduations, Dahl could be a top 10 fantasy spec next year…he’s already pretty darn close in my mind (my overall Top 50 will be out a week from today)

  3. Swfcdan says:
    (link)

    Wow on Gray, 5th and would be 1st if not 2nd on the list in a neutral home park?

    Left my 2B situation too long in my 16 team dynasty and so have gone with the speed upside of Micah Johnson. Do you think he can start in the bigs and if so what numbers could be realistic? Trying to decide if hes worth rolling with for now or whether I need to try and make a deal. Thanks.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      yeah he’d be much higher…that plus the hitters get moved up for the same reason

      it will be down to Johnson and Sanchez this spring…he’s a speed guy with little power so as long as you know that going in and keep the expectations in check, I think he could be useful…he’s got 30SB potential with enough playing time

      • Swfcdan says:
        (link)

        @Mike: Just figuring out my picks for upcoming minor league draft (OBP over AVG). Gallo is available so I think I have to take him, but would it be crazy passing him up for Tomas or Rusney if I wanted to win this year? Or does Gallo’s potential dwarf even them, have heard a lot of big donkey comps about this guy and Dunn was always a BBs beast in his prime.

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          take the Cubans if you’re more in a win now mode

          • Swfcdan says:
            (link)

            @Mike: Dahl’s available too, know now you love that guy. Either way I’ve got 4 (yes 4) of the first 14 picks in this 12 teamer, so I should have a lot of fun!

            • Mike

              Mike says:
              (link)

              nice…grab Dahl if you can

  4. Benny says:
    (link)

    In a vacuum, would you rather have T. Walker or J. Gallo in a dynasty league?

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Gallo

  5. Lville Jim says:
    (link)

    Nice write up, always good to hear about Rockies minor leauge hitters.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      thanks Jim! for sure…

  6. Ante GALIC says:
    (link)

    Mike!

    Nice write-up! Many thanks again for the series, great idea. Will be looking at Gray in the second half of 2016 for road starts!

    Cheers,
    Ante

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      thanks! Razzball has been doing these for quite a while but I appreciate that

      sounds good!

  7. Jason says:
    (link)

    I’m in a 12-team H2H DYNASTY “keep forever” league (32MLB/8MiLB). I want
    to upgrade OF before draft. It’s a 10×9 cat league.
    H,R,HR,RBI,SB,BB,SO,TB,AVG,OPS
    IP,K/9,WHIP,K/BB,W,QS,SV+HLD,ERA,HR

    I have an offer where I trade GCole for Bruce and I get a small draft pick upgrade too

    At OF I have JoeyBats/Werth/JDMart/Pollock/Choo
    At SP I have Stras/Lester/Cole/Arrieta/Carrasco/Lee/Lynn

    I know Bruce had a bad year last year and was injured. I think he can bounce back.
    Do you? Cole could break out though and be a stud or get hurt. Am I giving up too
    much here?

    Which player would you want

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      looks like you’re not hurting at either position, so I’d take the hitter in Bruce

  8. Racehorse says:
    (link)

    Mike

    As you said at the top, there’s always a certain allure when it comes to Rox prospects because of Coors Field. Just the thought of finding and locking up the next Tulo or CarGo in a dynasty league is more than enough motivation to take a good long hard look at Rox preospects.

    All that said, in my dynasty league I’m in the process of dropping Trevor Story but keeping catcher Tom Murphy.

    Do I have that backwards? Should I hang onto Trevor Story to see if he fixes the hole in his swing? And how far off your list is Tom Murphy?

    Thanks!

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      I’d hang on to Story…Murphy is probably somewhere in that 10-20 range, but Story has more upside at a better position I think

  9. Cheese Eating Surrender Monkey says:
    (link)

    dynasty h2h with BB/K/SLUG/OPS as extra hitter cats and holds/HR’s against/OPBA/QS as extra pitcher cats. 1 hitter at each position/ 5 SP/ 3 RP/ 2 P slots and 11 BN slots.
    C -Mesoraco
    1B – E5/Morneau/Carter
    2B – Pedroia/Mendy
    3B – Aramis
    SS – Segura
    RF – Calhoun/Soler/Polanco
    CF – Cain Sugar/Mendy
    LF -K.Davis/Upton/Carter
    SP – Carrasco/Cashner/Richards/Kluber/Paxton/D.Holland/Hutchison/Bauer/Heaney/Arrieta/Carmart/Cain
    RP -Perkins/Cecil/F-Rod/J.smith/Rodney
    NA -H.Dozier/Mondesi/H.Harvey/Taillon
    1. which 1 guy do i drop now that Cain just came off DL yesterday? I have a lot of bench bats but they are good and it’s a dynasty. I would think Cain or Holland here.
    2. This is the league where we are drafting NA guys tonight. I draft at 8th and 17th (but only will pick anybody at 17th if i can get somebody better than H.Dozier). You had a best of list of guys that were just available this year, but i can’t find it. Tapia/Judge are also unowned. Please link me to that list and where would Tapia/Judge go in that list. I might be able to get 1 of Jackson/Schwarber (like you mentioned earlier being best bats at 8th) AND 1 of Tapia/Judge.

  10. Ra'zball Al Ghul says:
    (link)

    Wall and Padlo get me the most razzed. Thanks for opening my eyes more to Padlo. Looks like he could be a special run producer – 15 doubles, 4 triples, 8 HR, 44 RBI in 48 games at 17/18 years old = delicious! Both with awesome débuts, solid walks, manageable Ks.

    Dahl could be special too, hit tool is dope. but the further on he gets I sense his walk rate might end up being Adam Jones-ish, and his Ks are creeping up too, all in all possibly colluding to prevent him from reaching an all-star ceiling

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      nice…yeah I like Wall too

      I hear ya on Dahl…it will be interesting to see how he progresses in AA against tougher competition

  11. El Famous Burrito says:
    (link)

    Hey Mike,

    What do you think of Ryan Castellani? He’s too far away for a top ten inclusion, but I;ve read some interestingly good things.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      he’s a nice arm, same caveat with the org he’s in. I batted both him and Rosell Herrera around for the last couple slots

  12. Dave says:
    (link)

    So is Matzek gonna walk every second batter this season? Is this guy a sleeper in deep leagues or a total bust?

    Thanks

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      ha, I wouldn’t trust him personally. Maybe stream a road start here or there

  13. Baezaworldseries says:
    (link)

    Love these Mike. It’s got to be hard for Rockies pitchers. The soul crushing effect of Coors would be hard to “shake off” for road games. I read that breaking pitches lose 4 inches of movement there compared to Fenway. Is that accurate?

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      I don’t know about the exact number, but I have heard the pitches lose some break. I just have a really hard time seeing why it’s a good idea to invest in one for fantasy. I mean, even when I have a solid arm on my MLB roster I’m already thinking twice about starting them at Coors. I’d hate to have that battle in my brain for half a guy’s starts.

  14. Ryan says:
    (link)

    I am in a 20 team h2h dynasty league. I was offered trout pujols brandon phillips alcides escobar and porcello for upton longoria fielder desmond and walker. I’m just worried that the hit I take in ss and 2b might be too much for me to take this deal. What do you think?

    c kurt suzuki
    1b miguel cabrera
    2b neil walker
    3b evan longoria
    ss ian desmond
    lf justin upton
    cf austin jackson
    rf steve pearce
    util prince fielder
    bn kris bryant bn bryon buxton bn carl crawford bn dalton pompey

    sp garret richards
    sp clayton kershaw
    sp cliff lee
    rp jacob degrom
    rp jordan walden
    p hyun jin ryu p jake odorizzi p neal cotts bn tanner roark bn wily peralta

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      I’d take Trout

      • Ryan says:
        (link)

        @Mike: So what should I do at ss and 2b? So this isn’t overpaying?

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          Phillips at 2B, Escobar at SS…no I don’t think it’s overpaying

  15. Eric says:
    (link)

    The Rockies also switched to a new short season A affiliate, the Boise Hawks.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      thanks!…fixed

  16. Anthony says:
    (link)

    Dee Gordon or Gyorko for 2B? I have Dee but the swap is available..thanks!

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Stick with Dee

  17. Cheese Eating Surrender Monkey says:
    (link)

    ok, best overall player, this rank seem about right?
    a-jax (the prospect)/schwarber/judge/tapia/c.frazier/rodon?

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      I’ve got them ranked Tapia, Jackson, Frazier, Judge, Schwarber, Rodon

      the middle four are ranked pretty closely together

      • Cheese Eating Surrender Monkey says:
        (link)

        @Mike: wow, that’s higher on tapia than i thought.

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          yup, and I have Dahl even higher

        • Cheese Eating Surrender Monkey says:
          (link)

          @Cheese Eating Surrender Monkey: did he have some kind of coming out season in 2014 or something, since i might be able to grab him off waivers a few days later while grabbing one of the others at 8th overall. a-jax/schwarber probably have more hype being recent high picks. frazier/judge/tapia were out there for over a year or more each already. This is for a 12 teamer with only 5 NA’s so a lot of good players out there, but it’s yahoo so jagielo doesn’t even exist.

          • Mike

            Mike says:
            (link)

            that stinks you can’t pick up Jagielo

            yeah, most of the reports I’ve seen slap a 6+ hit on Tapia. He’s already a plus runner and could develop more power. He’ll rake in the Cal league and if he hasn’t been noticed yet in your league, I’m guessing he will be in 2015.

            • Cheese Eating Surrender Monkey says:
              (link)

              @Mike: nobody in yahoo can pick up it appears

              • Mike

                Mike says:
                (link)

                I can’t wrap my head around not having players available. It just doesn’t make sense to me.

                • Cheese Eating Surrender Monkey says:
                  (link)

                  @Mike: i’m sure they don’t “defend” it, it’s just people being lazy. fantrax really spoils us.

                  • Cheese Eating Surrender Monkey says:
                    (link)

                    @Cheese Eating Surrender Monkey: yep, rodon/schwarber/ajax all went before me, i took tapia and within 10 picks both judge and frazier gone.

                    • Cheese Eating Surrender Monkey says:
                      (link)

                      @Cheese Eating Surrender Monkey: sad part is had i known for sure frazier and judge would be around as of last wednesday i could’ve dropped dozier and got judge too.

                    • Mike

                      Mike says:
                      (link)

                      nice

  18. Matt says:
    (link)

    Not knowing the roster effects, in a bubble is Dellin and Lawrie for Wright and Crisp fair in dynasty? Thanks

    Have Bryant coming up, and RP are Boxberger, G Holland, Wade D, Broxton, Petit

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Sounds fair

  19. Mark says:
    (link)

    So in a dynasty draft, third year of the league, where we cant own any international signees that signed after last season’s opening day or 2015 draftees — so rusney, tomas, finnegan, etc., plus any guys who broke out after july 31 in the minors — is nunez, padlo or gonzlaez a good choice at around 60?

    I also have guys around them for some context: Adrian Rondon, Nick Howard, Andrew Velasquez, Montas, Marcos Molina, Jackson Reetz, Luis Torrens.

    Thanks in advance

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      I’d take Rondon ahead of those guys, you should be able to get them a bit later

  20. goodfold2 says:
    (link)

    hell yeah, in my 30 man league with almost no money i was able to win all of these, leone and mini donkey just this week (we did 4 sessions of bidding, each a week long) and we’ll have a clean up bidding during a few weeks long in march to grab anybody left over. 100 mil budgets. i didn’t have a 2nd CI starter, nor could i afford one, so happy to get the 2 i did.
    1. smoak 1.347 mil per for 2 years
    2. mini donkey 1 million (so i gave him the highest contract that i can cut at no penalty) for 1 year. He was one of the guys that i got cheap due to other people’s tiers having players higher. Somebody had bid 1.75.
    3. coghlan 1.33 1 year
    4. presley .669 1 year
    5. brach .531 per for 2 years
    6. al al .708 per for 2 years
    7.c.anderson 1.584 for 1 year
    8. chavez .4 (minimum) for 1 year
    9 leone (best of all from what smokey/baseball forecaster says) 1.1585 for 3 years. I had to drop the overbided (my fault, i learned the market and had to pay to do it) atchison and de fratus, losing 1.2565 for this year in doing so. Now i have 1 player minimum amount of money .400 mil for 1 player, but have 2 roster holes. But got a lot more guys than i thought i could get. I will likely try to drop Hale for 1 of Stauffer/Furbush/Scrabble or somebody better (but can only bid league min). Or i could drop Hale and grab a 2nd catcher (Chirinos not even bid on at all)

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      nice!

      • goodfold2 says:
        (link)

        @Mike: in that league, the same guy who traded me dj davis OF TOR (previously of top 5 last year), says he’ll give me uribe at .622, at which time i could drop mini donkey, keep smoak, actually have a 2nd CI starter. I could then drop Presley at .669, leaving me with 1.4555 for 3 open roster spots (so i’d be able to fill that last roster spot too). Is losing Davis’s future upside worth the difference between whoever’s starting daily between Smoak and Mini Donkey for a starter in Uribe? I’m not sure here. Davis seems like he could be big deal, and one of Mini Donkey/Smoak could end of starting (or at least one of them most of the time per day). Presley is the last OF slot which i’ll really only need when Werth’s on DL anyway, and i can get back somebody of his level off waivers when that happens.

        • goodfold2 says:
          (link)

          @goodfold2: wait a minute, he’ll take a lower prospect than dj davis.

          • goodfold2 says:
            (link)

            @goodfold2: what about wates OF or gumbs MI?

            • goodfold2 says:
              (link)

              @goodfold2: those out too.

              • Mike

                Mike says:
                (link)

                Rather give up Wates than Davis

              • goodfold2 says:
                (link)

                @goodfold2: ok, he will do it for hunter morris CI MIL. his contract is .400 mil per year till end of 2018. uribe’s deal is only this year. but he is a starter, and i could free up possibly an extra 1 mil to get a full roster. My other CI prospects are Kubitza/L.Jimenez/L.Encarnacion so i am weak at CI guys.

                • goodfold2 says:
                  (link)

                  @goodfold2: of course if drury comes up as a CI instead of MI i’d have him at CI too.

                  • Mike

                    Mike says:
                    (link)

                    Sounds good

                    • goodfold2 says:
                      (link)

                      @Mike: ugly thing is had i not rushed time wise i’d have set some crappy low level bid on uribe (i figured as starter he’d be more than i was willing to play, but since i paid 1 mil for mini, clearly i’d have been willing to pay .622 for uribe). morris no big loss then i guess.

  21. Slimbo says:
    (link)

    greetings!

    my keeper league with my buddies, 8 teamer with 14 keepers…

    i would be getting trout and giving up abreu rendon cano and bumgarner..do you like that deal? i think i can afford it

    here are my keepers (i think)
    abreu , buatista , cano , rendon , fielder , frazier, marte , reyes , yelich , betts , bumgarner , darvish , kluber , J zimmermann

    my bench i got
    frazier , dozier , mesoraco , teheran , cobb , iwakuma , cobb , gray , allen , perkins , doolittle

    No idea what to with all these keepers!

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      I’d take Trout

      • Slimbo says:
        (link)

        @Mike:

        thx pal

        what 3 from the bench would you keep for relpacements?

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          No problem…Frazier, Dozier, Mes

  22. tyler says:
    (link)

    I have the fourth pick in my 20 team keeper league, the following five guys are available, can you rank them:

    Vmart
    Wainwright
    Bumgarner
    zimmerman
    ortiz
    ross
    holliday

    as in who amongst should i target at four?
    i am guessing the names of wainwright and bumgarner go as does vmart in all likelihood
    tomas

    i know grey has them ranked, but any disagreements?

    • tyler says:
      (link)

      @tyler: @tyler:
      obviously more than five there…list expanded after looking at grey’s list.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Bumgarner, Ortiz, Ross

  23. TobiasFunkeAnalRapist says:
    (link)

    My minor league squad in a dynasty league is George Springer (gonna call him up right away as long as he doesn’t start out super cold), Dahl, Trea Turner and Arismendy (possible call up depending on what they do with him). Have you any stash and see prospects I should grab after I bring up Springer? We have a minors draft so all the major impact soon to be called up prospects will be gone. Thanks.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      hard to say without knowing who is available in your league

      obviously Moncada should be a target

      JP Crawford, Raimel Tapia, Nomar Mazara come to mind

  24. Jake says:
    (link)

    Do u think Jairo Diaz can become the closer this year or next?

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      he certainly has the stuff for it

  25. MB says:
    (link)

    I was offered shoemaker and drury for Doolittle in dynasty. That would give me carassco, kuma, lynn, Quintana, Kennedy, Burnett and cliff lee plus all 3 BOS RP and qualls at RP and allow me to trade an SP for a non injured closer. Do the deal or hold on to Doolittle?

    Thanks

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      I’d do the deal

  26. Cheese Eating Surrender Monkey says:
    (link)

    waivers finished, kang and yes… many went top 2. i dropped j.smith for farquar (i have rodney). what’s the rank of these 3, i have h.harvey, somebody dropped sims to get berrios.
    berrios/sims/harvey.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Berrios, Harvey, Sims

      • Cheese Eating Surrender Monkey says:
        (link)

        @Mike: ok, so i hold here.

  27. Cheese Eating Surrender Monkey says:
    (link)

    also, what about this trade idea proposed by the guy who just took rodon 1st overall instead of a hitter (and now sells it as “number 1 overall”). 12 team dynasty h2h with BB/K’s/slugg/OPS/OBPA/QS as extra cats.
    his rodon/bundy/melky cab for my soler/arrieta?
    I’d have to drop H.Harvey and probably H.Dozier to make room in NA slots, or hold Bundy in active slot hoping for him to play this year (rodon too i suppose). My team is already filled with young pitchers (taillon/h.harvey/bauer/heaney/paxton/richards/kluber/carmart/cashner/hutchison. I’m guessing Soler worth too much for this?

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      I like the Soler side, yes

      • Cheese Eating Surrender Monkey says:
        (link)

        @Mike: that’s my side already. stick the landing yet again. i took this team over late last year, that really is a lot of young pitchers, it also has polanco/mendy/calhoun/segura.

  28. Jason says:
    (link)

    Mike,

    I have a first year player draft coming up in a week. I read your rankings for the top twenty prospects(from your previous article), however, our league also has available prospects that were not chosen in previous drafts. Where would you rank these guys among your top 20…
    Adames
    Souza
    Mazaro
    Severino
    Moya
    Mella
    Iglesias
    Margot
    Aquino

    Sorry I know its alot, but my team is rebuilding and I have 5 first round picks. This is a 20 team dynasty. Thank you!

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Moncada, Tomas, Mazara, Castillo, Jackson, Schwarber

      • Jason says:
        (link)

        Any players listed you would put into your top 20 in place of the original list (besides nomar)?

        Thank you sir.

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          nope, Rodon is after Schwarber but before Margot, and all three still before Zimmer and Conforto…I’d give Souza a bump if the league is shallow or you are trying to win now

  29. goodfold2 says:
    (link)

    got this offer in the 30 man, i’m guessing it’s a no, mostly since crick going down with the control problems, but i don’t know much about romero/r.wright, but i would seem to be getting bent over here, unless i bought the crick hype.
    my j.o’connor/rj alvarez (both on .400 per year till end of 2018 deals)/really low 4th round 2016 pick
    for
    crick/romero/r.wright (CIN), all with same deals, except romero’s only till 2017.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      it’s not a bad deal…even if Crick isn’t going to wind up a starter, he should be a high leverage RP and I think that league counts holds, right? Plus he’s in a nice environment for pitching

      • goodfold2 says:
        (link)

        @Mike: but isn’t alvarez projected to be pretty much the same thing (high leverage RP)? we do have holds. I would think O’Connor is better than not just Romero/Wright individually, but possible both together (neither of those made your top 10’s)

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          sure…you could make a case with either side

          • goodfold2 says:
            (link)

            @Mike: ok, but i’d have to like crick the most of all those players to do it, clearly, as o’connor and 4th rounder better than rest of that deal. i just noticed that romero isn’t even minorable anymore, that seals it for me. I can waiver better OF (ruggiano/presley types) than him. And wright isn’t showing up in any CIN 20 team lists even.

Comments are closed.