Organizational Talent Rankings via Baseball America
2014 (21) | 2013 (25) | 2012 (26) | 2011 (28) | 2010 (12)

2014 Affiliate Records
MLB: [88-74] AL West
AAA: [79-65] Pacific Coast League – Sacramento (2015: Nashville)
AA: [77-63] Texas League – Midland
A+: [85-55] California League – Stockton
A: [55-84] Midwest League – Beloit
A(ss): [33-43] New York-Penn League – Vermont

Graduated Prospects
Marcus Semien, INF (from CWS)

The Gist
The Athletics were in win-now mode in 2014, which prompted them to trade their prized prospect Addison Russell (and to a lesser extent Billy McKinney) to the Cubs for Jeff Samardzija and Jason Hammel. That left this already light system even lighter, but recent offseason moves have restocked the farm moving forward. By trading Samardzija to the White Sox and Josh Donaldson to the Blue Jays, the A’s acquired four of the ten prospects listed below as well as recently graduated middle infield prospect Marcus Semien. There may not be any “elite” fantasy prospects in this top ten now that Russell is gone, but there are still several players that could be useful fantasy options in the near future. High-A Stockton was loaded with talent and three of the top four on this list played their 2014 seasons on that team.

Top Ten Fantasy Prospects

1. Daniel Robertson, SS | Age: 20 | ETA: 2016

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
642 110 170 37 3 15 60 11.2% 14.5% 4 4 .310 .402 .471

Robertson can hit, and that’s what will carry him to an everyday role in the big leagues. Offensive-minded middle infielders are a good thing in fantasy. The big plus for Robertson this year came in the trade of Addison Russell, who was sitting directly in front of him on the depth chart at short. With Russell gone, it’s possible Robertson assumes shortstop duties for the Athletics at some point in 2016. The 20-year-old doesn’t have much speed for a middle infielder, but evaluators grade his power as average and see a plus hit tool. He’ll face a big jump in competition this year at Double-A.

2. Matt Olson, CI/OF | Age: 20 | ETA: 2016

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
634 111 134 31 1 37 97 18.5% 21.6% 2 0 .262 .404 .543

Olson is a typical “three true outcomes” type with big power and a pile of walks and strikeouts. He’s a good target in leagues that value on-base percentages over batting averages. Even in standard leagues his power will play though. The A’s already have several corner infield options and recently traded for another, so Olson has started taking reps in the outfield to improve his versatility. Like Robertson, Olson will make the jump to Double-A in 2015 as a 21-year-old. Any player that hits close to 40 homers is going to get attention, but if Olson continues to put up big numbers at the next level, he should shoot up prospect rankings. First base is relatively shallow as far as fantasy prospects, which adds to his appeal.

3. Franklin Barreto, SS | Age: 18 | ETA: 2017

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
328 65 90 23 4 6 61 7.9% 19.5% 29 5 .311 .384 .481

Barreto was acquired in the controversial Josh Donaldson trade. It’s always a bad idea to judge trades right after they happen, but it’s particularly true in this case given Barreto’s distance from the majors. Reports consistently mention Barreto’s plus hit tool and that’s what will carry him as he advances. He also has plus speed and enough power to run into 8-12 homers. It’s too early to say if Barreto will be able to stay at shortstop long term, but he’ll likely end up at one of the two middle infield positions, where his offense will be more valuable in fantasy. Dynasty owners have an exciting prospect in this youngster, but need to remain patient as he hasn’t even hit full-season ball yet.

4. Renato Nunez, 3B | Age: 20 | ETA: 2016

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
563 75 142 28 3 29 96 6.0% 20.1% 2 0 .279 .336 .517

Along with Robertson and Olson, Nunez was part of a stacked Stockton team in High-A. He has plus power like Olson, but he doesn’t take as many walks. The A’s have several corner infield prospects, and Nunez could end up as a first baseman eventually. Bringing Rangel Ravelo into the fold further complicates the corner infield situation for guys like Nunez. He was signed as a 16-year-old out of Venezuela and had his first taste of a full season in 2013. In 2014 he saw his strikeout rate improve 5% and his home run total improve by ten. He’ll also make the jump to Double-A in 2015, and that will tell us more about his approach and how his power will play against tougher competition.

5. Matt Chapman, 3B | Age: 21 | ETA: 2017

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
220 23 51 9 4 5 20 3.6% 20.9% 2 1 .246 .291 .401

The Athletics selected Chapman in the first round (25th overall) in this year’s draft. He was also a pitcher, so he has a great arm that should help him remain at third base as he progresses. Chapman saw three levels in 2014, but spent the majority of the year in the Midwest League (A) where he hit .237/.282/389 with five homers. The 21-year-old has average power which could translate into ~15 homers at the major league level. That may not be enough to make an impact in fantasy outside of AL-only leagues or deeper dynasty formats, especially if he is going to call the Coliseum his home park. Chapman should start 2015 with High-A Stockton for his first full season of pro ball.

6. Rangel Ravelo, CI | Age: 22 | ETA: 2015

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
551 72 147 37 4 11 66 10.2% 14.0% 10 6 .309 .386 .473

A fifth-round draft pick from 2010, Ravelo was part of the return for Samardzija. He’s a big man with little speed and not much power – but he can hit. Ravelo has shown good on-base skills and hasn’t posted a batting average under .290 since he was 18. He recently transitioned from third to first base with the Sox but could get more time at both positions with Oakland. Ravelo spent the entire season at Double-A in 2014 and was one of the best hitters in the Southern League. He should be on the Triple-A roster to start the 2015 season. Evaluators seem to think there could still be more in-game power lurking in the bat, but for now he’s a better option in AL-only or OBP formats.

7. Chad Pinder, 2B | Age: 22 | ETA: 2016

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
436 61 116 32 5 13 55 5.0% 22.7% 12 9 .288 .336 .489

Pinder gets points for bringing a little of everything to the second base position, where offensive value is a little harder to come by in fantasy. He’s similar to a Kody Eaves type from the Angels’ system. Pinder was also part of the Stockton crew in 2014 and like them he will get his first taste of Double-A this season. Not to sound redundant, but that jump is considered one of the larger ones from level to level so it’s important to note. Pinder is two years older than the others but he is destined for a position at which the A’s aren’t nearly as deep. With average tools, Pinder makes more sense in deep dynasty formats where the large majority of prospects are owned.

8. Kendall Graveman, RHP | Age: 23 | ETA: 2015

W L ERA G GS SV IP H R ER HR BB/9 K/9 AVG
14 6 1.83 27 27 0 167.1 142 40 34 2 1.7 6.2 .231

Graveman was part of the return for Josh Donaldson from Toronto this offseason. He’s polished and close to the majors – in fact he appears as the fifth starter for the A’s on some depth charts. That’s despite throwing less than 210 total innings in the minor leagues to this point. In 2014, the 23-year-old pitched at four different levels with the majority of his season spent at High-A Dunedin. He even threw a handful of innings for the Jays in September. Graveman has a four-pitch arsenal that includes a plus fastball. He also has above average control and that was evident in his sub-2 walk rate in nearly 170 innings. It’s that control of his stuff that will give him the chance to reach the majors quickly. Put him in the Coliseum and he’ll be fantasy relevant in deep leagues even as a fourth or fifth starter.

9. Sean Nolin, LHP | Age: 24 | ETA: 2015

W L ERA G GS SV IP H R ER HR BB/9 K/9 AVG
4 7 3.43 20 20 0 97.0 79 39 37 6 3.6 8.2 .216

The other arm in the Toronto trade, Nolin could be in the mix with Graveman for the fifth rotation spot in 2015. He throws four pitches including a slider, curve, and changeup. The change is his best offering outside of his fastball according to Baseball America’s scouting report. Arms attached to warm bodies can carry fantasy value when they pitch in Oakland, but Nolin’s ceiling is limited to a fourth starter. His control wasn’t as good as Graveman’s this season but his strikeout numbers were also better. Prior to 2014, Nolin posted walk rates under three per nine, so it’s a matter of getting that good control back in 2015. He’s an AL-only/deep league option like Graveman.

10. Raul Alcantara, RHP| Age: 22 | ETA: 2017

W L ERA G GS SV IP H R ER HR BB/9 K/9 AVG
2 0 2.29 3 3 0 19.2 17 5 5 0 2.3 4.6 .250

Unfortunately, Tommy John surgery hit the pause button on Alcantara’s development after only three starts. Prior to the injury and the trade with Toronto, Alcantara was Oakland’s best arm with a plus fastball, plus changeup, average slider and curve. He was part of the return for Andrew Bailey from Boston way back in December 2011. Like a lot of other TJS pitching prospects, this presents a buy-low opportunity for deep dynasty league owners that can afford to stash injured arms. His upside is a #3 starter if he can return to his pre-injury form.

Athletics Previews: 2014 | 2013

AL Top 10 Prospects Index

  1. Baezaworldseries says:
    (link)

    1.You think Graveman will have any chance to break camp with the A’s? Or is he more of a mid/late season call up?

    2.Weekly 12 team 13 keeper points h2h league. Do you prefer to own aces or play matchups with your SP?
    Thanks Mike.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      1. Yes, I think he’s got a chance at the 5th spot to start the year. Nolin in the mix too.

      2. If I can get my hands on an ace in keepers at a good price I will, but it is one big arm tops.

      The rest of my staff is typically arms that cost 5 bucks or less with a standard 260 budget. In-season I am usually streaming two or three spots by July.

  2. bdub says:
    (link)

    Need to keep 6 in 12 team H2H.
    Rizzo
    Dozier
    Baez
    Soler
    JD Martinez
    Arrieta
    Tanaka
    Sale
    Harvey
    Thanks –

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Rizzo, Dozier, Baez, Soler, Sale, Harvey

  3. Swfcdan says:
    (link)

    Despite the trade still not many names I’ve heard of, to put it lightly… How many of these guys would actually rank in your top 50 and top 100? Ive never even heard of Robertson who is no 1.

    Those trades make me kinda wonder which top prospects list Billy was looking at…

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Yeah, probably none in top 50, but I think you could make a case for top 100 with Robertson, Olson, and Barreto.

      • Swfcdan says:
        (link)

        @Mike: Pretty lame return for Donaldson and the rest isn’t it. Who are we to question the Beaner but it certainly doesn’t look great on paper…

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          Yeah, I mean it’s certainly a controversial trade and a good one to debate, but it’s probably not fair to judge any trade with a knee jerk response – especially when they involve prospects.

          • Swfcdan says:
            (link)

            @Mike: It can be argued it is fair as you can judge prospects by prospect rankings. That said Billy’s so crazy he might have a totally different set of prospect rankings than the rest, looking for different skills to everyone else. So I guess we can’t judge Billy’s trades.

  4. Yescheese says:
    (link)

    What’s your evaluation on the 2B from the equally bizarre Brandon Moss trade?

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Well, I have to admit I had never even heard of him and I live an hour south of Cleveland. From what little I’ve read the only tool that stands out is his hit tool with everything else being fringe average. Maybe he runs into 8-10 homers, but he’s already 24 and sounds like 2B is his only position. Tough to see him being a good fantasy target and Pinder seems like the better bat.

  5. Dave says:
    (link)

    Hey Mike, am i crazy to trade starlin for segura in dynasty? or should i wait to see if starlin becomes arod?

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Not sure about becoming A-Rod but I would prefer Castro to Segura in dynasty. You’re not crazy to consider it, but I’d hold.

  6. Big Magoo

    Big Magoo says:
    (link)

    Hey Mike, just wanted to get your thoughts on the Rays/Pads/Nats deal that just went down, particularly regarding Trea Turner. Think he could be a solid replacement for Desmond in real life by 2017 (or maybe even 2016?), and what about his fantasy prospects?

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Turner’s best tool is his speed – it’s plus plus. Sounds like he can stick at short and replace Desmond. Fantasy wise, I’m not sure about him since there’s not much pop. Maybe more of a SAGNOF type that hits and steals bases from the top of the lineup.

      Souza is a nice player and ranked high on the Nats list prior to the trade. Outside of those two I don’t think there were any “impact” guys for fantasy other than Myers of course.

      • Big Magoo

        Big Magoo says:
        (link)

        @Mike: Yeah, I went back earlier and looked at your Souza writeup from the Nats prospect post. I think that he makes for a nice sleeper pick in the late rounds next year. Love the power/speed combo, even if the batting average might be a bit iffy.

        Myers still has some upside, but I’ve always thought that he’s been overvalued in fantasy because of his prospect status. Might fall a bit in drafts though due to his poor season and now the move to PetCo.

        It’s always a nice bonus to get some steals out of your MIs in fantasy, which is why Turner looks like he could be useful down the road. Thanks, Mike!

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          Anytime, Magoo. I agree with all of that.

          I’m pretty high on Myers in keepers and dynasties. Not sure where I’d take him in a standard redraft yet.

  7. Cafuné

    Maxi says:
    (link)

    Good write-up…here’s a good read on Ravelo if anyone’s interested:
    http://www.fangraphs.com/fantasy/rangel-ravelo-1b-sleeper/

    Sounds like he has more power than the numbers show.

    Also, although they may not be anywhere on top 50 prospect lists, Robertson and Olson are legit. No way in hell I would expect Robertson to live up to the hype of Addison Russell, and as a huge A’s fan, it’s gonna hurt to see him killing it with the Cubbies over the next few years (or decade, but hey, Cubs fans deserve it and will show him love, so I can’t be mad). Both Robertson and Olson have good bats despite unreliable numbers from CAL League, as they both hit well in AZL this year.

    http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2269690-final-report-card-grades-for-oakland-as-prospects-at-the-arizona-fall-league/

    If his Big Bro is teaching him a thing or two, Ryan Doolittle is gonna be a beast in a few seasons.

    Lastly, Donaldson is should continue to be a fantasy machine in TOR’s lineup and away from O.Co, but honestly I feel like the Jays are the most injured team on a year-to-year basis, so it will be interesting to see if he stays healthy.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Thanks Maxi…yup, there could be some more power in Ravelo. It can play up when a guy has a good approach like he does. I’ll have to check that article out.

      Agree with you on the others. Toronto is a nice park for RHH, which makes Donaldson even more alluring to me.

  8. goodfold2 says:
    (link)

    somebody is trying to move l.encarnacion for a 5th round pick. i’m thinking he’s worth more than that? i would still have 7 picks this year (mostly after the 2nd round, so flyers all, mostly for pitching depth).

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Sure, I’d throw a fifth round pick at Encarnacion in that 30-teamer. He’s a lotto ticket but that’s what you would be getting with a pick that late anyway. Ranked right there with Devers in that 2013 int’l class…

  9. goodfold2 says:
    (link)

    you appear to be doing these at a rate of 1 per week on wed. what are the next 4 teams you are doing (i won’t ask about those since i’ll see them anyway before my draft picks start). After that i’ll ask about the other teams going off BA’s lists (they are done with AL), so the easy questions will revolve around AL teams. With the remaining NL teams that you haven’t done those will take longer since my only lists will have to come from Scott’s posts last year. i’ll also i suppose include guys drafted in top 150 picks in case they make these lists.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      TB, SF, CLE, CIN, ARI, TOR, LAD, NYY, BAL, COL, NYM, TEX, KC, STL, SD, HOU, CHC, MIN, BOS, PIT…

      Likely twice a week at some point to be done before season starts

  10. goodfold2 says:
    (link)

    BOS from last year are all owned. also from this year’s BA list everybody except Rusney owned. i’m gonna go ahead and assume that rusney isn’t around when i pick though. so do any of these move into your top 10 for BOS, or do i just ignore BOS? Also if they do move into top 10 where.
    chavis SS
    kopech RP (i don’t know if they project as SP or RP so i’ll just put their throwing hand)
    travis 1B
    cosart RP
    mcavoy RP

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      I don’t foresee them being top ten

      • goodfold2 says:
        (link)

        @Mike: opps, i forgot about the easiest thing to forget about, internationals. no other of those for BOS in their top 10

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          Nah. Outside of Lara, Hernandez, and Rondon the Yanks gobbled up most of those this past year I believe.

  11. Ghost of the Disappeared says:
    (link)

    Mike: Good Job. Only would go with Overton SP in top 10 over Ravelo – no power at first – (a Derrick Barton clone -??? – another failed 3rd baseman) – Overton could be something. Held back by TJ the year of his draft. Gray’s better half back then.

    ***** FLASH**** Norris traded as I write. A’s win this one hands down. Hahn and Alvarez (stud) both ready for MLB – the A’s will be needing pitchers as they trade their current staff away before mid year 2016. Norris is good hitting catcher and a poor D catcher (not good in a catcher) Seth Streich still a work in progress – not bad – just not tempered at higher levels yet as the Monks hurlers have been.

    Back to rant.>

    Oakland may not be good enough to be able to win the AAA World Series in 2015.

    They will be a stinky poopoo caca grunt grunts.sundae team with a cherry on top. And hold the whipped cream if it costs extra.

    We have an ownership that is not a baseball group. They are only interested in development schemes and have publicly stated, they will not lose money by investing in the team. That’equals ugly for the fans. The fans are fed up. The A’s attendance could suffer massively – I’m talking huge – a drop of 40% is not out of the question if something is not done.

    Billy Beane is trapped in a very bad spot with these owners. He must choose this or that – never both – and normally, the lesser costing that. It is sad. The A’s had another year in them in 2015, IMO. DIS -FFFF’n-CUSTING

    As I said, I did like the Donnie trade.

    Moss’s was a head scratcher – Yeah, FOR WHO???? “A real hustler and a hard worker” is not the tag you are looking for – add to that, he is spose only to be a “maybe” average 2nd baseman at AA -(They DHed him a lot – never a good sign) —– Hey? What does that equate to at the MLB level for 2nd base D = ATROCIOUS ??? Moss is hurt though and was he just a flash? Still, ugly for the fans and club.

    The Shark came off like a dump salary panic deal. GO YOU STURDY GOLDEN BEARS!!! Simien was a Uni of Cal player – as was their Rule 5 pickup, Canha (interesting player) from the Fish via the Rockies. We have the makings of the first all Golden Bear infield in MLB history – we are halfway there already. Canha will barge the team roster if is carried – Ala Freiman did in 2012

    GGGGGGrrrrrrrrrrrraaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaHHHH!! GO GOLDEN BEARS!!!!

    The rest was heh? Simien better be something. Both these guys (Canha) have power the A’s desperately need..

    Rumors abound that a deal is being readied to spend the savings- Yeah right. And the checks in the mail.

    The A’s will be horrible for the next decade. They may set a MLB losing record.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Z49ehW0z7Q These are great – my little soccer club’s MB in England uses this scene all the time – it is fun. This fella did one on the Cespedes trade last year, Enjoy

    Can I be Phillies fan if the A’s are asked to leave MLB. I’m serious, MLB may start a relegation system because of them. They are going to stink for a long time to come.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Ha! Great video.

      Thanks Ghost. I hear ya. I considered putting Overton in that group of arms 8-10. Norris does feel like a sell high. That brought back some nice pieces. Donaldson is kind of a head scratcher and Wendle seems like a light return…Moss was probably a hard sell.

      There is always plenty of room for you on the Philly bus, but it’s just as bumpy a ride.

    • Cafuné

      Maxi says:
      (link)

      @Ghost of the Disappeared: Totally disagree with you Ghost. If you can make accurate, decade-long predictions about baseball clubs, then go make a killing in Vegas.

      First, it’s SEmien. Can’t let that one slide after having to learn to spell Samardzija for three and a half months.

      While I certainly can’t see the A’s taking home the division in 2015, the Athletics will never dither away in the AL West as long as Beane’s in charge. You want a championship? Me too man, me too, but people ALWAYS make the assumption that any new players that are coming in have absolutely no shot at winning games. Who were Donaldson, Moss, Céspedes, Norris prior to 2012? Absolute nobodies, that’s who.

      I highly doubt there will be a 40% attendance dip THIS season because Billy got rid of most of the recognizable faces on the team. A’s single game ticket prices are absurdly cheap when compared to the guys across the bay, and that alone will put asses in the seats. To compare it to the last dip in A’s attendance, 2008-2011, was when the A’s were definitely in a rebuilding stage, but then again the average attendance across baseball also dropped because of the recession:
      (http://www.baseball-almanac.com/teams/athlatte.shtml)
      2006: 1,976,625, W-L Record: 93 – 69
      2007: 1,921,844, W-L Record: 76 – 86
      2008: 1,578,922, W-L Record: 75 – 86
      2009: 1,408,783, W-L Record: 75 – 87
      2010: 1,418,391, W-L Record: 81 – 81
      2011: 1,476,791, W-L Record: 74 – 88

      Please note that in 2007, we had a losing record and still managed to almost replicate the prior year’s attendance numbers. Last year, the A’s topped 2million in attendance, so a 40% dip would mean 1,200,000 fans. All that would do would be to throw more fuel to the fire for the idiots that own the team to try and leave Oakland, and real A’s fans that want them to stay in Oakland know that showing up to the ballpark , All-Stars be damned, is what will keep them in the East Bay. Period.

      En fin, I know you’re ranting and that’s chill because that’s what fans need to do in December, but if come April you still feel that way, feel free to root for Ruben Armero’s “rebuild.” The Phillies could be horrid for another half decade as long as he’s in charge, and that’s a fact. (My roommate’s a Phillies fan, so I feel your pain).

      • Ghost of the Disappeared says:
        (link)

        Mazi: First; learn to live my spelling or be plan on being very upset. HAHA SIMIEN SIMEIN SEMINE SEMENI, who cares as long as he can field and hit. I understand, his fielding is spose to be very suspect. Typical of the new bargain Blue Light Special A’s.

        2nd; I will stand by the 40% drop as a possibility.

        1) If you can find the 2012 A’s season take a gander at the attendance before their amazing Home of the Walk Off Win Capital of the World run began. They were sinking fast at the gate. They were on tract to tickle the 1,000,000 mark =assuming a bad season out the door.- I remember, the lads in the broadcast booth bemoaning the fact.. The attendance exploded with the run up into the race. It was the greatest miracle A’s season ever.and most likely ever will be. Replete with Hammie’s dropped ball – who will ever forget that!

        2) The reason for the dropping attendance in 2012 was that the owners had insisting on downsizing the payroll and their constant very public move politicking – planting that idea the OAC was not a place to come to watch baseball at. Thinking they had the San Jose move sewed up.

        3) This season, forthcoming, we were still in fine shape to be competitive with some investment to be in the race. The fans are shocked! And angry. Really angry. They know it is the cheapskate owners who balked again at spending money again. They will lay the blame where it belongs.

        4) The long term impacts of the abandonment of Sacto area will be felt hard finally as the A’s become an also ran. You may not be aware of it. EXAMPLE = 8 of the last 10 games were not on the radio up here during the wild card race this season – even preempted for local high school football! That’s how bad it was and has been for years on end in Sacto. A 2,500, 000 fan base has been fully discarded by these non baseball developer minded owners. San Jose might as well be on the far side of the moon to the fans here and any one living north of the northern Bay bridges too Add to that the A’s Rivercats AAA team were changed over to the Giants banner too another 1,000,000 plus fans. A big signal to the fans here that the A’s are not interested in them as a fan base region. It’s not like the A’s can do without extra fans. Tell that to those moron owners.

        5) The fans loath this owners group. It is too much to ask of them to continue to support as team that has falsely portrayed as a small market club. In 2013, the A’s were the 7th most profitable team in MLB in spite of the owners. (yes, I know the reasons for this). The fans know they are an afterthought to these owners – who think, they are the team. (I’m shouting now, sorry), PRO BASEBALL IS ALL ABOUT THE FANS PAYING TO SEE IT! PRO BASEBALL IS NOTHING WITHOUT THE FANS! These owners have been taking windfall profits out of this club for years now – not to mention the valuation of the clubs projected sale price – 100s of millions of value added there to their profits.

        6) The fan realize the owners have done everything possible to move the team far away from over 2/3s of the A’s fan base into a traffic hell, devoid of public transportation access and leave them with undo-able added hours of travel to the weekday games -even weekend game will be rough. The owners are clearly identified with this. How could they not be – they’ve been selling it for years.. 2/3s of the A’s fans don’t know if they will have a team one week to the next. One that they will be able in to go see in the future and they know the owners want it that way. The fans aren’t stupid.

        7) Again, the fans are not robots. The attendance will suffer. How much? I think, it will be far greater than most people think it will be. Especially if the A’s stink. The A’s don’t have the RiverCats (their AAA team) pumped up the way they did in early 2010s. They have little there now like they did get in 2011/2012. There will be little help from below.

        8) The trades are not done either. If you think, the A’s will be the 2012 A’s every time they dump salary, you must believe babies come from under cabbage leaves. These owners and Billy (I’m not a Billy hater) are not going to be that lucky time after time. And this time they have an enraged fan base like they have never had before. The owners have earned this anger by their own actions – they will and should pay for it .

        Be ready for a fan reaction to the foul treatment they have received over the years from these owners . A team that could not even supply them with decent plumbing (I’m not buying it was all the OACs fault either – given the next to free on-the-public rent these owners were and still are paying).

        I’m done with these public ripoff artist miscreants..

        • Ghost of the Disappeared says:
          (link)

          sorry: Should have read *** —- anyone living north of the northern Bay bridges too – another 1,000,000 plus fans. Add to that the A’s Rivercats AAA …….

          • Cafuné

            Maxi says:
            (link)

            @Ghost of the Disappeared: I was born and raised in Santa Rosa and have my sister out in West Sac, so I feel you for traffic. Also, I just went to my first Niner’s game in Santa Clara and absolutely hated having to figure out how the hell to get there without a car.

            Losing SAC as a “fan base” was a stupid-ass move, especially with the RiverCats being one of the most successful minor league operations over the last decade. But most of my friends from Sacramento were already Giants fans, and those who weren’t already joined the bandwagon over the last 3 WS titles, so I don’t know how many real A’s fans were out that way.

            I think your concerns are valid but still don’t believe that everyone’s as enraged as you think. For me, it’s just par for the course with Billy’s A’s.

            These A’s will be fine, just wait.

  12. goodfold2 says:
    (link)

    ok, in the case of MIN, all of the BA/Scott last year top 10 list players are gone, except these two drafted this year
    gordon SS (6th)
    birdie RP (7th)
    Do you agree with those guys being in those spots? Should any international or cederoth/clay/reed get added into this top 10? If not looking like BOS/MIN gonna be easy to navigate.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Yup, that makes sense to me. I might have Gordon a tad higher and Burdi lower, but I don’t see the international guys cracking the list since it’s a pretty strong system.

  13. goodfold2 says:
    (link)

    with HOU, do you agree with b.phillips at 6th?
    2. how high does aiken fit?
    3. do any of these make the top 10?
    fisher OF
    reed 1B
    davis 3B
    mengden RP

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      1. sure, that 6-8 range likely for Phillips
      2. Aiken won’t be eligible for the list since he didn’t sign
      3. Fisher and Reed possibly, Davis and Mengden likely aren’t

      • goodfold2 says:
        (link)

        @Mike: if he is eligible to be in our league’s draft though, where would aiken be? I’m finding out right now if we can draft aiken (it’s probably a moot point as he’d be very likely drafted ahead of my first pick)

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          Oh gotcha…hmmm, well he’d be up there with Rodon and Kolek, and they are both Top 50 guys.

          • goodfold2 says:
            (link)

            @Mike: ok, so no chance for me to get him then anyway.

            • Mike

              Mike says:
              (link)

              probably not. If your league makes him eligible I’d guess he’d go in the top thirty picks given how deep your rosters are

              • goodfold2 says:
                (link)

                @Mike: he’s not eligible till he signs, like you thought. he’ll likely be a ridiculously priced midseason break bidding war player, where some team with no chance breaks their team up and spends at least 30 mil to get him. we get the money back in the succeeding season as long as we keep our bidded player wins in active roster for ROS. It’s how i won Drury last all star break.

                • Mike

                  Mike says:
                  (link)

                  Gotcha. Seems like there are always a few nice pieces in those midseason bids. I landed Ketel Marte for a few million last year. Lost out on Pompey, who went for more than I could afford.

                  • goodfold2 says:
                    (link)

                    @Mike: i think pompey went for around 26 mil or more in july

                    • Mike

                      Mike says:
                      (link)

                      18M in my league. I had 5M to bid with and took over the team with two days to prep for the midseason auction. It was wild!

  14. goodfold2 says:
    (link)

    after not enquiring into how i could’ve traded a 4th round pick (weak value) for holliday/panda/moss (teams that owned this guys weren’t tagging them, and thus were pretty much willing to take ANYTHING for them), i have a werth for my 3rd rounder next year? I would have to untag Legares and either franchise or restrict Werth. I need homers on this team. I would NOT franchise Werth, since i’d have to spend 21 million this year on him (not worth that). I’m guessing Legares could be won in bidding pretty damn cheaply anyway. Only worry is if Werth gets bid up too much i would have to let him go, but if it was over 10 mil i’d get a supplemental 1st rounder. I would probably be willing to spend up to 10 mil on werth. that sound about right?
    2. now that ervin signed for 13.5 mil, is it worth franchising him for that price (and making sure i have him) or gambling that he won’t be bid up that much in our league and restricting him?
    I already used a franchise tag on beltre for 18 million. I can either have 2 restricted or 1 restricted and 1 more franchise at this point. Legares would be cheap as hell, but i have a lot of steals already, but few homers.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      I’d take Werth for a year if all he costs you is a pick. I agree you might be able to reacquire Lagares.

      Santana is a tough one. Kind of like “bird in hand”. If I remember right, your team is in pretty good shape for pitching, but I would still franchise him for that price.

      • goodfold2 says:
        (link)

        @Mike: turns out here is table for which supplemental pick you get if you don’t match your restricted guy’s bid.
        over 15 mil 1st and 2nd rounder.
        12-15 mil 1st round
        9-12 2nd round
        goes down 1 more round every 3 million till 3 and under are 5th rounder. roster with werth (assuming if he gets bid above 12 mil i take the 1st rounder and let him leave)
        C -d’arnaud .4 mil
        CI- Beltre 18 mil
        CI –
        MI – segura 6.4 mil
        MI alcides 3 mil
        OF – leonys 3.1
        OF – a-jax 6.4
        OF -werth 10mil (that’s a guesstimate)
        Util –
        BN (3 guys, ,maybe 4)
        SP – ervin 13.5
        SP – Sale 6.425
        SP -Liriano 11.5
        SP – Quintana 6.4
        SP – Hale .4 mil (and since ATL is giving up this year, he has a job right now)
        SP – (or 2 more)
        RP – Melancon 6.421
        RP – Fien .4
        RP (X 4, or 5 more)
        problem here is that i would be left with only 8.05 mil left over to spend on 10 players. Miminum contracts being .4 mil, this is a lot of awful RP and 2 offensive starters. I could, of course gamble on one or both of werth/ervin costing a good amount less than 10 and 13.5 million of course, and give 1 or both restricted contracts. Bascially if Beltre sucks and my team is out of competition i should trade him for cap room. Should i just restrict these 2 and get ready to lose one of them for picks if they get expensive (if one which one)

        • goodfold2 says:
          (link)

          @goodfold2: also, i could get lucky and some of my minors guys get called up this year, they only cost .4 when they are active.

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          Sure, restricting both works too. I think Santana is the guy I would let walk for the picks.

          • goodfold2 says:
            (link)

            @Mike: will do, thanks.

            • Mike

              Mike says:
              (link)

              Anytime

  15. Alex says:
    (link)

    Mike, thanks in advance.

    I have a chance to trade for Drew Stubbs in daily fantasy for TJ House. Do the deal? Afraid he leaves Colorado.

    5×5 roto dynasty

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      This is kind of tricky. I don’t mind Stubbs, but he is better against lefties and you may end up needing a platoon partner for him for when he doesn’t start in their crowded outfield. Plus he is getting older and may start losing some speed.

      On the other hand, House is a nice sleeper arm and only 25, but no lock for a job with Salazar and Floyd in the mix.

      I’d lean House on this one.

      • Alex says:
        (link)

        @Mike: Thanks man

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          anytime

Comments are closed.