Organizational Talent Rankings via Baseball America
2014 (16) | 2013 (8) | 2012 (5) | 2011 (23) | 2010 (28)

2014 Affiliate Records
MLB: [64-98] NL West
AAA: [81-63] Pacific Coast League – Reno
AA: [79-58] Southern League – Mobile
A+: [75-65] California League – Visalia
A: [83-56] Midwest League – South Bend (2015: Kane County)
A(ss): [48-28] Northwest League – Hillsboro

Graduated Prospects
Chris Owings, SS | David Peralta, OF | Chase Anderson, RHP | Tuffy Gosewisch, C | Alfredo Marte, OF | Vidal Nuno, LHP | Mike Bolsinger, RHP | Ender Inciarte, OF

The Gist
The Diamondbacks made a splash this offseason with the signing of Cuban outfielder Yasmany Tomas, who immediately becomes their best fantasy prospect. Apparently they weren’t finished though, recently signing Cuban right-hander Yoan Lopez. This system has five legitimate pitching prospects, three of which are close to contributing at the major league level. Despite the hitter-friendly home park, these arms have solid fantasy upside thanks to their strikeout potential. Recently graduated prospect Chris Owings will now man shortstop on an everyday basis. His combination of power and speed make him an interesting late round target in 2015 drafts. And while we’re here…don’t forget about Randall Delgado, who is currently slated for long relief but could run with another opportunity in a rotation.

Top Ten Fantasy Prospects

1. Yasmany Tomas, OF | Age: 24 | ETA: 2015

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG

Here’s what we know about Tomas – there’s enough power in his bat to hit 25+ homers but the consensus is that his approach is questionable. He’s 24 years old so he hasn’t reached his peak yet, and now he finds himself in one of the better hitting environments in the major leagues for right-handed hitters. So what we have is a player with a fair amount of risk, but who is also MLB ready and could supply some much-needed power over the next 4-6 years – even if it comes with an average in the .250-.260 range. The Diamondbacks are going to try Tomas at third base this spring, but really he profiles as a corner outfielder. I would temper expectations for 2015, but Tomas should be off the board in the first 5 picks of first-year dynasty drafts this winter.

2. Archie Bradley, RHP | Age: 22 | ETA: 2015

W L ERA G GS SV IP H R ER HR BB/9 K/9 AVG
3 7 4.45 18 18 0 83.0 76 43 41 2 5.3 8.1 .248

Despite a down year, Bradley is still the best pitching prospect in this system and one of the best fantasy pitching prospects in baseball. The 22-year-old was supposed to be in the bigs last year, so there could be some prospect fatigue already. Bradley has been consistently ranked in the top 50 overall on traditional lists each of the last three years and I wouldn’t expect that to change now. His fastball and curve are both plus pitches and could lead to the big strikeout numbers we love in fantasy. Some of his struggle this year could have been injury related, but the bottom line is Bradley needs more polish if he’s going to reach his frontline starter ceiling. That will require some patience from fantasy owners.

3. Braden Shipley, RHP | Age: 22 | ETA: 2016

W L ERA G GS SV IP H R ER HR BB/9 K/9 AVG
7 8 3.86 22 22 0 126.0 117 62 54 11 3.0 9.1 .252

Shipley started out as a position player before making the switch to pitcher in college. So while he’s the same age as Bradley, he’s a little behind in both raw stuff and development. Shipley has the edge when it comes to his change-up though, and it gives him three plus pitches in his arsenal. The 22-year-old’s ceiling is more #3 starter than frontline starter or “ace”, but he’ll provide plenty of fantasy value thanks to his ability to miss bats. Shipley should see Triple-A this summer with a real shot at the rotation sometime in 2016.

4. Jake Lamb, 3B | Age: 24 | ETA: 2015

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
460 63 128 39 5 15 84 11.5% 22.4% 2 0 .327 .407 .566

If Tomas doesn’t pan out defensively at third base, Lamb is ready to step in and fill that role (he can already field the position well). He’s at play in 2015 fantasy leagues thanks to that proximity to the majors. The 24-year-old has enough pop to get to 20 homers and has already spent time in the bigs. In 133 plate appearances in 2014, Lamb hit .230/.263/.373 with four homers and four doubles. Take the triple slash with a grain of salt since his MLB debut came earlier than expected. Unfortunately for Lamb, he currently has Tomas in front of him and Drury behind on the third base depth chart, so there’s pressure on his bat. He’ll likely start the year in Triple-A to add more polish if Tomas indeed wins the third base job, but should still see the majors in some capacity this summer.

5. Brandon Drury, INF | Age: 22 | ETA: 2016

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
594 85 160 42 1 23 95 8.1% 16.0% 4 3 .299 .362 .510

Drury was acquired as part of the Justin Upton trade two offseasons ago. Should Tomas or Lamb take the third base job and run with it, the 22-year-old third baseman could reach the majors at second base instead. Evaluators seem to like his hit tool better than Lamb’s, which could give him a better shot at panning out. However, Lamb has more power and is closer to the bigs already. Drury doesn’t run well but should contribute a little of everything else for fantasy regardless of where he plays. With no standout tool he’s more valuable in deep leagues, but has a chance to be more relevant if he taps into his power (potentially 15-20 HR) as a second baseman. He’s about a year behind Lamb and should see Triple-A by the end of the year.

6. Aaron Blair, RHP | Age: 22 | ETA: 2016

W L ERA G GS SV IP H R ER HR BB/9 K/9 AVG
9 5 3.56 27 27 0 154.1 125 67 61 12 3.0 10.0 .218

Blair has three plus pitches in his fastball, curve, and changeup. His ceiling is similar to Shipley’s (#3 starter) but he’s a little closer to the majors. Blair made a big jump in both his innings and performace this year. He threw at three different levels, eventually earning a promotion to Double-A where he posted a 1.94 ERA with 46 strikeouts in 46.1 innings pitched. With good control already, Blair could see Triple-A this summer and may even get a cup of coffee in Arizona by the end of the year. Bradley, Shipley, and Blair give Arizona fans three legitimate pitching prospects to look forward to over the next two years.

7. Touki Toussaint, RHP | Age: 18 | ETA: 2018

W L ERA G GS SV IP H R ER HR BB/9 K/9 AVG
2 4 8.48 12 10 0 28.2 38 34 27 5 5.7 10.0 .311

Toussaint was selected 16th overall in the 2014 draft and the 18-year-old already possesses two double-plus pitches in his fastball and curve. He is still far away from contributing in the majors, but that nasty combination could eventually lead to big strikeout numbers and in turn a fantasy ace. Toussaint should be one of the first few arms off the board this winter in dynasty drafts despite his distant ETA (I ranked him 19th overall). There’s frontline starter potential here but it will require some patience.

8. Yoan Lopez, RHP | Age: 21 | ETA: 2016

W L ERA G GS SV IP H R ER HR BB/9 K/9 AVG

In addition to Tomas, the Diamondbacks also signed Cuban right-hander Yoan Lopez this offseason. Not only is his $8.25 million dollar signing bonus the biggest we’ve seen to date, but it limits Arizona to $300,000 in the next two signing periods. In other words…they really liked him. We’ll know a lot more about Lopez once he’s had a season’s worth of eyeballs on him here in the States. At the very least we know he has a low-to-mid-90s fastball, a good slider, and has had some success in Cuba as a starter. He’ll probably start the year in A-ball to get his feet wet, but could advance quickly.

9. Peter O’Brien, C | Age: 24 | ETA: 2016

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
427 67 108 23 2 34 74 4.9% 26.0% 0 0 .271 .316 .594

The big debate over O’Brien is whether he will be able to remain behind the plate or eventually move off and become a 1B/DH type. The 24-year-old was acquired from the Yankees in the Martin Prado trade last summer and has plus raw power. How much of it he will be able to get to in games against more advanced pitching is questionable. From a fantasy perspective, you’d like to see him stay at catcher, and he’ll get a chance to keep developing at the position in 2015. The 34 homers in his stat line are pretty, but the K/BB percentages are sitting there too. If his approach is poor and he doesn’t really have a home on defense, it’s going to hurt his fantasy value.

10. Domingo Leyba, MI | Age: 19 | ETA: 2017

PA R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB% K% SB CS AVG OBP SLG
278 40 84 18 1 2 23 5.0% 10.8% 3 4 .322 .359 .421

Leyba was acquired from the Tigers this offseason. Here’s what I wrote in their top ten: “Leyba is still raw at just 19 years old, but he’s another middle infield prospect in the Tigers’ system that does a little bit of everything. He’s a switch hitter that can play both middle infield positions and should add some more pop as he matures. After his promotion, Leyba was one of the youngest players in the Midwest League this season. He more than held his own, hitting .397/.431/.483 with a homer and a steal in 30 games. There is still a lot of development left but it’s easy to get excited about Leyba’s potential.”

Diamondbacks Previews: 2014 | 2013

NL T10 Prospects Index

 
  1. Hawk says:
    (link)

    Question for you (or you, or yes, even you).

    10 team, 5×5 protect 12, keep forever league (no rounds or dollar values). We also have 5 minor leaguers per team which do NOT count against the 12 keepers.

    I have a great young pitching staff (Felix, Wacha, Arrieta, Ventura, Wood, Carrasco, McHugh) with Archie Bradley and Taijuan Walker in my minor league system. Would you deal one/both of them for Corey Dickerson?

    I feel like it may be overpayment, but I do not really *need* either Bradley or Walker and Dickerson is available and seems like a good, young hitter (and he’s in Coors…).

    What do you (and you, and yes even you) think?

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      ha…I’d make that move, yes.

    • Holden says:
      (link)

      @Hawk:
      lol you should do that deal even if it’s both of them for dickerson.

  2. Clint says:
    (link)

    Mike, what’s your take on drafting for a prospect spot late in drafts if you think the guy may be taken by others in a keeper league to be stashed? I was looking at how I’ll flesh out my bench after we sort out 10 keepers in my h2h league and 5 keepers in my roto league where, in both leagues, we’re allowed 2 “prospect” spots where we can minors guys. I was thinking of grabbing someone like Bradley (or an Addison Russell et al) and then grabbing a free agent to fill that bench spot with after the draft’s over and I can formally slide them into the spot. Last year I waited until after the draft to fill those spots and missed out on some good guys like Baez & Springer because they were already stashed.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      If I am reading it right, you can draft a guy but then move him to a minor league N/A slot? If that’s the case, I would be willing to take a couple bigger prospects at the end of the draft to then stash away in those MiLB slots. In most of my drafts the last couple of picks are lottery tickets/replaceable anyway.

  3. thorbs says:
    (link)

    Nice writeup as always!

    What do you think are realistic projections for Shipley? He strikes me as an Arrieta/Tillman-y sort of player that might take quite a while to learn how to actually pitch (that Stras v. J-Zimm argument of stuff vs. pitchability).

    I was thinking a ceiling of 3.50 ERA, 180K, 1.20 WHIP?

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Thanks! I think that’s pretty fair, actually. He may not have the same ace upside as some of the other top pitching prospects, but he’ll play up in fantasy thanks to solid strikeout totals. Solid fantasy #2 or #3 SP

  4. goodfold2 says:
    (link)

    good to hear as a drury owner that yas… many will likely end up in OF (it’s not like ARI has had many good versions of those besides parra who they dumped). Pick coming up soon, i’ll be back after jj drafts his last one. On other note it’s possible i wasn’t scooped, but i simply can’t find any rankings/lists other than here and me asking that would indicate mella and kela both grabbed by same guy, RIGHT before he would’ve known i was going to grab them. In either event, this spy does trust the opinion of people that aren’t you (and me) sometimes, he just took pinder OAK, when he probably needed CI/OF more than MI. Maybe he only trusts you and my questions when he already thinks he needs a pitcher. hmmm.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      all this draft chatter makes me want to get started with mine :)

      • goodfold2 says:
        (link)

        @Mike: yeah. possible spy has 2 of next 3 picks, then my last for draft 3 later. most owners in this draft are very good by this point (a few certainly were not earlier). 7.32 picks per day at this point over 19 days, and that includes a guy who’s gone over 17 hours three times (got skipped twice, had to come back and get a player 5-10 picks down the draft those times)

      • Yescheese says:
        (link)

        @Mike: I’m sensing the need for a Razzball Dynasty League! This is definitely the time of year for the fantasy fever. Spring training is really draft season

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          JFOH has mentioned that too. I think it would be a lot of fun!

          • goodfold2 says:
            (link)

            @Mike: a 16 teamer sounds good? really they would all sound good. I’m partial to 16-20’s. Not so deep it scares the crap out of neo’s, but not shallow either.

            • Mike

              Mike says:
              (link)

              Hard part’s always filling it with owners who don’t turn over every couple years

              • Yescheese says:
                (link)

                @Mike: that is the challenge. You’ve got a good point on Yoan Lopez (“the other Yoan”) … If ARI was willing to take the penalty they must have really liked him. I won’t be drafting him, but I wonder how he will compare to say, odrisamer despaigne

                • Mike

                  Mike says:
                  (link)

                  Yup. Both him and Iglesias from CIN are interesting additions to the pool this year.

              • goodfold2 says:
                (link)

                @Mike: yeah, i’m running a hockey league, and yes, i’m seeing that.

                • goodfold2 says:
                  (link)

                  @goodfold2: specifically that people don’t run the team into the ground first.

                  • Mike

                    Mike says:
                    (link)

                    Yup. Usually the good teams aren’t the ones abandoned and then you have to find somebody who is cool with rebuilding. Not always a fun process.

                    • goodfold2 says:
                      (link)

                      @Mike: i’ve been somewhat lucky in finding my last few teams that i’ve picked up being at least fairly good (or course i shop around mostly before picking up any old team).

  5. goodfold2 says:
    (link)

    ok, possible spy took nearly no upside except playing time catcher (diaz PIT), making him the only team with 2 catchers in this year’s draft. this might spell that i wasn’t scooped. he also took r.bautista, who is ranked by you.
    1. how would bautista slot into those OF i mentioned yesterday (cozens/tocci/adolfo/delgado/b.hernandez)? i didn’t mention his name since he seems to be speed guy as opposed to power/OPS guy, and i need the later much more.
    2. ok, as far as why you have t.williams MIL over those other 2 MIL pitchers in your own list (wagner, lopez) i’m guessing it’s since they are more likely to play soon? I need basically best starter here (eventually, don’t care about wait), and answer was davis BAL or t.williams MIL. Williams does have some sick numbers, but it’s very low levels.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      1. Yup Bautista is a speed guy so probably doesn’t make a good fit for you.

      2. The three guys in Milwaukee you could flip a coin. I like Davies though.

      • goodfold2 says:
        (link)

        @Mike: and i finally found a 2nd website that likes Mella, and maybe why i shouldn’t have adjusted my assumed market of him as much as i did. he’s number 3 at this other place also, instead of the 13 or whatever he was at some others that think he’ll likely be bullpen guy.

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          I’m glad I’m not the only one. I feel like he was getting a lot of hype during the season though.

          • goodfold2 says:
            (link)

            @Mike: i have no idea how some other sites have him like 11-14th (and claimed “likely RP”). it’s why i thought i could wait longer. Only negative other sites mention is the labrum issue.

            • Mike

              Mike says:
              (link)

              yes, the cuff injury limited his innings, so there is some concern that he can’t make it through a full season because, well, he hasn’t really yet

  6. BreakOut says:
    (link)

    Methinks this is Randall’s year. Methinks Youthinks that, too.

  7. Bammers says:
    (link)

    Trade offer in 16 team 5×5 roto league… his Rymer Liriano/Ian Kennedy/2.03 draft pick for my Dalton Pompey/6.16 trade pick. Which side do you like? Do I hang onto Pompey?

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      I would, yes. I like Pompey more than Liriano by a big enough margin that it would take more than Kennedy and a pick.

  8. Russell says:
    (link)

    What’s your take on Stryker Trahan? His power seems legit but otherwise his bat struggled it seemed in A ball. Is it age or going back and forth between catching and outfield work maybe?

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Really struggled obviously, but it was also his first full season and he’s still only 20. It might be too early to throw in the towel. They toyed with him at other positons (outfield), but at this point he’s pretty much all power and will have to do better in his second attempt at the MWL in 2015.

  9. Ringo says:
    (link)

    Any thoughts on the many good reliever prospects coming through the pipeline for the d-backs? Who do you think has the best chance of becoming the closer? They got Matt Stites, Jake Barrett and Jimmie Sherfy who all look solid. Not to mention Kaleb Fleck who I had not heard of until recently. And yes I know the rule of thumb when it comes to relief prospects and keeper/dynasty leagues but please humor me if you can.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Agree with Yescheese…Barrett’s the guy I would buy in to there.

  10. Yescheese says:
    (link)

    I see Jake Barrett being groomed for that role. You’re right, plenty of nice reliever prospects in this farm system. You won’t see them ranked, but nice assets in real life. They just brought in a bunch more marginal type arms in trades this winter, so the relief pipeline stays full

  11. Micah Stupak-Hahn says:
    (link)

    I know that I’m not going to change the way things are right now, but… I appreciate these pieces and like reading them, but each time I wish there was a bit of a review of last year’s prospects, like maybe how they performed relative to expectations? Even some simple iconography in the graduated prospects section would be nice.

    Regardless, good work on these.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Thanks Micah! I’ll note it and try to incorporate somehow. A “graduated prospect review” sort of thing…

      • Micah Stupak-Hahn says:
        (link)

        @Mike: Thanks, I’m glad you understood what I was getting at and didn’t take it the wrong way. thumbs up dot png

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          no problem

  12. Jammer McSlam says:
    (link)

    Love these write ups especially with the fantasy focus since most minor league writeups take defensive value into the equation.

    I saw your list of best newcomers, but I have the 1st & 8th pick in a minor league draft that values hitters by a pretty significant margin over pitchers (I would never draft a ML pitcher unless he has #1/#2 upside if everything breaks right). With that said, can you rank these first 8 available players?

    Nomar Mazara
    Jesse Winker
    Carlos Rondon
    Alex Jackson
    Kyle Schwarber
    Rafael Devers
    Adrian Rondon
    Manuel Margot

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Thanks! Sure thing…

      Mazara, Winker, Devers…Jackson, Schwarber, Rodon, Margot…Rondon

  13. danny almonte says:
    (link)

    what’s the fantasy ceiling of jose berrios or mike foltynewicz? which do you like better?

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      I like Berrios over Folty

  14. goodfold2 says:
    (link)

    i’m assuming you already knew this, but holy crap, zach davies is 6 foot and only 150 lbs! that’s like billy hamilton skinny! also, if i gained 4 inches and was some sort of athlete that’s probably the exact size i’d be. This all being the case, the fact that BAL gave this dude over a half million signing bonus must say a LOT about his pitchability.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      haha…yeah he’s more polish than power for sure :)

      • goodfold2 says:
        (link)

        @Mike: good franco-prussian war joke right there.

  15. goodfold2 says:
    (link)

    how high would you have had j.deleon P LAD? I never asked about him when i asked about LAD since he wasn’t on Scott’s 10 last year nor drafted just now. he’s top 6-7 in some spots, and I could have grabbed him instead of either yarbrough or alcantara back in late 3rd round.

    • goodfold2 says:
      (link)

      @goodfold2: he must’ve moved pretty quick in last year, since he wasn’t even in BA (the book)’s top 30. I didn’t even ask when he was drafted at 4.4, since i just now see him ranked top 6 at BA’s top 10.

      • Mike

        Mike says:
        (link)

        He’s probably in that 6-10 range. I’d like to be more specific, but I haven’t looked closely at LAD yet. He’s upside/long ETA type.

        • goodfold2 says:
          (link)

          @Mike: just wish i would’ve had any idea at all about him back when i was putting up any names in top 10’s, as he could’ve been ahead of alcantara or yarbrough. that dude must’ve moved fast to not even be BA top 30 last year and now 6-10.

          • Mike

            Mike says:
            (link)

            I wouldn’t sweat it. I’m not sure there is that big of a difference between the three.

  16. Swfcdan says:
    (link)

    Just checking out Rotoexperts prospect rankings (seems they made theirs in late September), and most I’ve been through so far are as expected, with one exception…Franco at 4 between Buxton and Joc…WOW! As a Franco owner id started to sour on him a bit after his performance last year, but that ranking shows I shouldn’t look to deal him after all. Either that or they’re totally nuts, what do you think as a well informed Phils fan.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      He’s a solid fantasy prospect. I’ve got him in my Top 15. I wouldn’t trade him willy-nilly, no. If you can cash out for something nice, by all means though.

      • Swfcdan says:
        (link)

        @Mike: I guess just him not bopping one homer in the show put me off him a bit, guessing he’ll have a full year next year to prove himself? The Phils are crying out for some young hitting. Still think I’ll hold him down next year until he proves himself fully though, unless he goes apeshit in April I guess haha.

        Suppose just being 3B eligable boosts you up the rankings nowadays, it’s becoming a bit of a graveyard out there…

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          Yes, I would hold him down if you have that option. The Phillies have no reason to rush him and he could see the first part of the season in Triple-A.

          • Swfcdan says:
            (link)

            @Mike: Yeah seen a quote from Amaro saying that too, looks like I’ll let him stew. What do you think of Fatt Adams btw man, unrelated question but still trying to figure out my keepers for next year.

            We have a cap of 8 keepers and im loading some pretty long contracts on this offseason including Rendon and Cole for 3 years, Ventura for 2, Bogaerts probably 1 year renewable, and have Crush Davis another 2 years. So I clearly don’t want Adams for long, so I think it’s either the 1 year ($3) or 2 years ($6) deal. Thinking just go 1 but does he have the potential to go nuts and put up 25+ bombs and make me look a fool? I just don’t know what to make of the big lump…

            • Mike

              Mike says:
              (link)

              I’d go one year. I’m not too high on him going nuts.

              • Swfcdan says:
                (link)

                @Mike: Yeah wouldn’t shock me but hey if it happens I got a great year for dirt cheap.

                Had a trade offer in for Winker, getting the 6th overall pick in our prospect draft. Now I was tempted but then I remembered Tomas and Rusney would be unavailable in our draft due to league rules (no guys over 23 allowed, stops the Puig/Abreu prospects which make it better I think), so we’re talking around Conforto/N Gordon territory. How high do you rank Winker and do you think either of those guys would be an upgrade long term?

                • Mike

                  Mike says:
                  (link)

                  The only 2014 signees I have ahead of Winker are the three Cubans. If you can land Moncada with that pick go for it. If your team is really light on pitching prospects, I could see trying to land Rodon, but that is more about need since I still have Winker ahead of him too.

                  • Swfcdan says:
                    (link)

                    @Mike: Wow you must be high on Winker then, where does he rank? I’ll hold then yeah.

                    • Mike

                      Mike says:
                      (link)

                      He’s in my top 30

                    • Swfcdan says:
                      (link)

                      @Swfcdan: Cool , cant wait till they are revealed!

                    • Mike

                      Mike says:
                      (link)

                      Thanks…me too! I’ll probably keep tweaking as the season gets closer, but I don’t see Winker moving much.

  17. Ryan Young says:
    (link)

    Thanks again! I don’t yet play in a keeper or dynasty league, but I find these very useful. Hopefully they help me not be so surprised in the future when star players appear to come from nowhere!

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      No problem! I’m glad they’re helpful

  18. MB says:
    (link)

    I am in a situation where I only have Hanley in dynasty. Semien has the PT but has obvious flaws. Should I flip him for Owings?

    Thanks

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      I’d take Owings

  19. Alan says:
    (link)

    Mike, appreciate the help as always. We keep everyone forever; no prices.

    I need a little more runs and a tad more SB and AVG. Is trumbo for calhoun cool? (I have trumbo)

    Thank you

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Anytime. Yeah, I’d make that swap

  20. Swfcdan says:
    (link)

    Can’t fit it in above lol. The guys come back offering the 3rd pick for Winker, now that’s starting to interest me. Would leave me with one of Moncada (IF signed by MLB club by then), Rodon or Schwarber (or Jackson if you prefer him). Now im starting to get tempted, you think its worth going for? Winkers a very nice bat but im not totally sold on the power potential from him, 15-20HRs is nice but not a difference maker if he doesn’t run.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      I would still want Winker unless you are sure you can land Moncada with the pick. The fact that he is already upping his pick should tell you Winker’s value.

      • Swfcdan says:
        (link)

        @Mike: Hmm ok I just could see more upside with the guys I mentioned above. You see power potential in Winkers bat?

  21. goodfold2 says:
    (link)

    got an offer of these for v.reyes OF ATL
    e.martin P PHI/m.head CI BOS
    It’s looking like reyes has better upside here.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      Martin could see holds and maybe even saves down the road (plus his middle name is Cash which is cool) but yeah, I would stick to the bat in Reyes there.

  22. Kenneth says:
    (link)

    In a dynasty league, probably looking more at 2016 to make a serious run, would you move Strasburg for G. Cole and Giolito?

    Also, any thoughts on Stryker Trahan?

    Thanks.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      In 2016 Strasburg will still be able to help you win. Giolito will just be getting started. I’d hold Stras.

      Re: Trahan – He’ll get another shot at the MWL where he really struggled. The power is there, but outside of that it’s a lot of question marks…including where he’ll play in the field.

Comments are closed.