Didn't Cook Get the Win?

Steals/Saves Ain't Got No Face. Closers and speed talk. Which MRs are moving in? Which schmohawk speedster is getting steals at MI?
a pena in deAza
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 9:32 pm

Didn't Cook Get the Win?

Postby a pena in deAza » Fri Jul 27, 2012 9:48 pm

I watched the game tonite. He was brought in with two outs in the 8th and blew the save, but the A's scored 6 in the ninth and Blevins pitched the bottom of the ninth. Every scoreboard site I see is giving Blevins the win, but it belings to Cook. Am I wrong? Will ESPN realize this mistake and corect it?

a pena in deAza
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 9:32 pm

Re: Didn't Cook Get the Win?

Postby a pena in deAza » Fri Jul 27, 2012 10:28 pm

Ok, this is the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard in baseball. The official scoree didn't give Coik the win because he was ineffective?? He came in with2 runners on and gave up 3 hits and only one earnes run. We see this all the time with relief pitchers who pitch poorer than this and yet are credited with a win when their team rallies to comeback and win. I've only ever heard of official scorers getting to pick the winning pitcher when the atarter fails to go five. Does anyone else think this is totally absurd???

User avatar
Posts: 36710
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 5:51 pm

Re: Didn't Cook Get the Win?

Postby Grey » Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:26 pm

Yeah, one of the crazier things I've heard...
Grey Albright

If you want me to look at your team, post the team. Don't post a link to another site where the team is.
Have you given me all the info I need to judge your team? The number of teams in the league is a good start for the big overall questions.
Is your league H2H? Roto?
I don't know who's on your waivers. Don't just ask me who you should pick up. Give me names to choose from.
If you only have one team, post your team in your signature with the league parameters.
I don't know every single matchup for next week, so if you want me to choose a player for the following week and you think the matchups are important, tell me who they're facing.
There's more than one player with the same last name? Then spell out who you're talking about.

Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:45 am

Re: Didn't Cook Get the Win?

Postby Charles » Sat Jul 28, 2012 1:13 pm

Learn something new every day:

10.17 Winning And Losing Pitcher
(c) The official scorer shall not credit as the winning pitcher a relief pitcher who is ineffective in a brief appearance, when at least one succeeding relief pitcher pitches effectively in helping his team maintain its lead. In such a case, the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher the succeeding relief pitcher who was most effective, in the judgment of the official scorer.

Rule 10.17(c) Comment: The official scorer generally should, but is not required to, consider the appearance of a relief pitcher to be ineffective and brief if such relief pitcher pitches less than one inning and allows two or more earned runs to score (even if such runs are charged to a previous pitcher). Rule 10.17(b) Comment provides guidance on choosing the winning pitcher from among several succeeding relief pitchers.

Return to “Baseball - SAGNOF”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest