Page 1 of 1

E Pagan Save?

Posted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 7:03 pm
by JDubb83
Someone explain to me how Pagan (TB) got credit for a save in a 5-0 game on 9/6 against TOR. Am I missing something:

Current Rule
A relief pitcher is awarded a save when he meets all three of the following conditions:

He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his club; and
He is not the winning pitcher; and
He qualifies under one of the following conditions:
He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning; or
He enters the game, regardless of the score, with the potential tying run either on base, at bat, or on deck; or
He pitches for at least three innings. (The word "effectively" has been removed from the MLB rules.)
Under the last condition, the official scorer has some discretion as to whether or not to award a save. This is rule 10.20 of the Major League Rules.

No more than one save may be credited in each game. A pitcher who comes into the game in the circumstances described above is said to have a save opportunity.

Re: E Pagan Save?

Posted: Sat Sep 07, 2019 8:09 am
by Grey
Tying run was on deck

"He enters the game, regardless of the score, with the potential tying run either on base, at bat, or on deck"