2012 projections - Wisdom of the crowds

News, Injuries, Rosters - All baseball all the time!
Akston

2012 projections - Wisdom of the crowds

Postby Akston » Mon Feb 13, 2012 2:39 pm

I have been doing this for a few years, figured I would post it in case anyone finds it valuable.

Essentially, the premise is that no one "expert" projections will be as valuable as if it you aggregate and average the projections from multiple "expert" sources. So I downloaded a bunch of free projections from various non-schmoe sources, averaged them, and poof - a new projection source.

So far, I have 6 sources on this: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... VdCVjhMRFE

I still need to add ESPN, CBS, full ZIPS projections, and Marcel (if they ever get released - for some reason I thought I heard that he wasn't doing Marcel's anymore), and update some of the older ones I downloaded. I'll update it periodically over the next month as the projection systems come out.

And I wouldn't put much weight on the listed "value" metric. It's something that I use for my own specific league (which uses OPS and has some other wrinkles), but I kept it in there just so I had another way to order the list beyond just alphabetically or by PA/IP.

Grey

Re: 2012 projections - Wisdom of the crowds

Postby Grey » Mon Feb 13, 2012 5:12 pm

Interesting... Thanks for doing this!
Grey Albright
http://razzball.com

If you want me to look at your team, post the team. Don't post a link to another site where the team is.
Have you given me all the info I need to judge your team? The number of teams in the league is a good start for the big overall questions.
Is your league H2H? Roto?
I don't know who's on your waivers. Don't just ask me who you should pick up. Give me names to choose from.
If you only have one team, post your team in your signature with the league parameters.