It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 6:16 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
 Post subject: keeper question
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 2:49 pm 

Hi

Thanks for all your advice. I love Razzball.

I have been playing FBB for over ten years and this year I have decided to take on a new FBB challenge; a keeper league. A friend of mine had an opening in his 12 team Fantasy point keeper league (not roto) because the owner had enough. The issue is that the team pretty much sucks and I don't even have many choices for my keepers and am trying to find the right strategy. Here are the players I have to choose from:

Garret Atkins
Chris Coste
Jason Kendall
Kevin Millar
Placido Polanco
Stephen Drew
Magglio Ordonez
Juan Pierre
Eric Hinske
Michael Cuddyer
Todd Helton
Jeff Kent
Hideki Matsui
Jayson Werth

Ryan Dempster
Scott Kazmir
Ted Lilly
Daisuke Matsuzaka
Jose Valverde
Javier Vazquez
Todd Wellemeyer
Francisco Cordeo
Chad Gaudin
Rich Hall
Braden Looper

As you can see, there isn't much to work with. Especially since there will be 48 top guys gone before I get my next player pick (I have the #1 pick). My gut tells me to take Dice-K, Kazmir, Magglio and Valverde. I usually dont take any SP or RP until the 7th round or so, so this really messes with my usual strategy, but regardless my offense will be lacking. The major plus is that as of now, both Braun and Manny will be available for my first pick (Their owners have other players currently marked as keepers, which attests to how strong those teams are.), but then i will have to wait another 23 picks for my next two picks.

I'm leaning towards possibly taking Drew as one of my keepers since Hanley, Reyes and Rollins will already be taken and he is the top ss left on the board.