Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+

This index is meant to help you navigate through all of the minor league previews from both this season and last season. All of the reports from last year are already linked, including the preseason and midseason Top 50 fantasy prospect lists. Links to this year’s previews will go live as each report is published, beginning with the Phillies and ending with the Cardinals (we’re using the 2016 MLB draft order as our guide this year). By the spring, this index should make it easy for you find a specific team’s preview and compare the changes from year to year in both the organizational and overall prospect rankings.

2016 Minor League Preview Index

PHILLIES 2015 2016 INDIANS 2015 2016
REDS 2015 2016 TWINS 2015 2016
BRAVES 2015 2016 NATIONALS 2015 2016
ROCKIES 2015 2016 GIANTS 2015 2016
BREWERS 2015 2016 ANGELS 2015 2016
ATHLETICS 2015 2016 ASTROS 2015 2016
MARLINS 2015 2016 YANKEES 2015 2016
PADRES 2015 2016 RANGERS 2015 2016
TIGERS 2015 2016 METS 2015 2016
WHITE SOX 2015 2016 DODGERS 2015 2016
MARINERS 2015 2016 BLUE JAYS 2015 2016
RED SOX 2015 2016 ROYALS 2015 2016
DIAMONDBACKS 2015 2016 CUBS 2015 2016
RAYS 2015 2016 PIRATES 2015 2016
ORIOLES 2015 2016 CARDINALS 2015 2016
2015 Preseason Top 50 2016 Preseason Top 50
2015 Midseason Top 50 2016 Midseason Top 50
Top 25 Dynasty League Signees
 
  1. Gray's Sports Almanac says:
    (link)

    Thanks for doing these Mike. Did u want to start with the Phillies just to give yourself some hope? Longtime suffering cub fan here so I get it! Thanks for the link setup, it was cool to have a good way to go back and check them out!

    I am getting used to reading RB’s minor league review of the Cubs in late spring, but still anxious to read your thoughts!

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      anytime Gray

      haha yeah it was all an elaborate ploy to start with the Phils!

      I’ve been rooting for your Cubbies!

  2. Packers says:
    (link)

    Thanks, Mike.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      no problem

  3. MattTruss

    MattTruss says:
    (link)

    Bookmarked and ready to roll. Nice format Mike, you’ve made solid improvements for this coming season.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      thanks Matt! now I just have to write the darn things lol

  4. Tim says:
    (link)

    Thanks Mike!

    Early thoughts on who to use my minor league keeper slot on?

    Giolito
    Judge
    Moncada

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      anytime…I’d go with Moncada

  5. BreakOut says:
    (link)

    Sweet, thanks! Bookmarked here, too.

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      no problem :)

  6. Ra'zbahl Al Ghul says:
    (link)

    Can’t wait! When does Philly drop?

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      putting it together now, so they’ll start rolling out either Sunday or a week from today

      • Ra'zbahl Al Ghul says:
        (link)

        @Mike: Eggcellent news Mike-L. Sadly my Rockies will be soon to follow. At least the Phillies can actually say they are in a rebuild… We are in a nonbuild, even kept our lousy manager

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          nice…yeah I don’t really “get” the Rockies for lack of a better word

          • Ra'zbahl Al Ghul says:
            (link)

            @Mike: ugh

            • Mike

              Mike says:
              (link)

              seems like position player wise thay’ve got a ton of talent both in the bigs and on the farm. Mayber they have a hard time getting FA pitchers to come to them? I have no idea

              • Ra'zbahl Al Ghul says:
                (link)

                @Mike: Yep totally, and since ’05 or so, they have valued having “good guys” and clubhouse guys more than they should, more than is sane. I mean come on, they intentionally started the year with Hawkins as their closer… They play underwater reverse moneyball and instead of OBP they look for who can slap a good towel in the shower… hmm that didn’t sound right… If only we had kept Jason Hammel and countless other pitchers that had some success here… 2007 and 2009 was about good-enough pitching. Didn’t hurt to have Ubaldo at the time too. I do think Gray and Bettis could be good-enough to keep them in plenty of games though. Ottavino’s injury was the death of their season

                • Mike

                  Mike says:
                  (link)

                  word…they had it cookin in 07. I always forget how money Ubaldo was

                  • Ra'zbahl Al Ghul says:
                    (link)

                    @Mike: I was at game 3 NLDS when they swept your Phils, got to game 3 and 4 of NLCS sweep too and WS game 4 reverse sweep :(

                    • Mike

                      Mike says:
                      (link)

                      oh nice! I was at Game 1!

                    • Ra'zbahl Al Ghul says:
                      (link)

                      @Ra’zbahl Al Ghul: Nice! Phils were no joke in ’07 too. When the Phils went on to win it all in ’08 it gave me condolence pride that we kept em down in ’07

                    • Mike

                      Mike says:
                      (link)

                      ah, the good ole days when I was still living in Jersey and the Phils were in the playoffs haha

                • Christine Michael: one Unlucky Whitehead (just pop him or not) says:
                  (link)

                  @Ra’zbahl Al Ghul: oh yeah, with ottavino they’d have done very well for themselves, one better closer would certainly have really fixed that team.

  7. claw dog says:
    (link)

    Hey Mike,

    Thanks for this. Also quick question. In top prospect lists, how high up do you think AJ Reed will end up being on them? I have the 7th pick in my minor league draft and I am praying he will be available for me to take. Keep in mind that every team can have 3 minor leaguers, so a bunch of minor leaguers are already off the board.

    Thanks!

    • Ra'zbahl Al Ghul says:
      (link)

      @claw dog: Reed looks like he could be a future monster for sure

      • claw dog says:
        (link)

        @Ra’zbahl Al Ghul: Yea I’m thinking so too. My current 1B in my keeper league is Encarnacion and I think Reed may be the perfect replacement. Then hopefully I could get something in return for E5

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      anytime…I had him in the back half of the midseason top 50 for fantasy. Traditional lists might ding him for defense (1B/DH type) but I don’t see any way he’s not a Top 50 guy everywhere entering 2016

  8. james says:
    (link)

    I really want to see where Alfaro ends up on the Phils list. He really is a crazy guy to rank. The tools like one of the best for a catcher in the minors (if not the best), but he was hurt all of last year, and the numbers before were not really showing off what he can really do.

    With that, I live near the AA Os affiliate, and they played the Phils in the Eastern league Finals. It was nutty to realize that the Phils basically had traded for a ton of the star power on that team for the playoffs. I had never really thought of mid season trades, and how they really do reshape the minor league clubs in the process. (Baysox ended up winning, but that team has no decent prospects- Mancini, Gunkel and Yasermetski are the highest upsides of that group- and that is basically a 1b only prospect with limited power, a tail end of the rotation guy and a 4th OF).

    The Phils may be a 99 loss team, but they are clearly a top end farm system now. JP Crawford is a good centerpiece on any farm, and they picked up 3 more top 50 type guys dealing Hamels, not to mention Roman Quinn and his amazing speed (if he has not lost it). The system does need arms (Biddle is still one of their top 5 or so arms- and he has almost all but washed out)

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      I’ve got Alfaro in the first tier (although behind Crawford,Williams)

      totally agree on the Phils…farm is a strength now and it runs deep. Shame on Biddle, TJS was the last thing he needed. Kilome was a nice surprise this year in the pitching department, but he’s still got a ways to go

      • james says:
        (link)

        @Mike:

        the last thing he needed was another hail storm, at least he avoided that…. I have never seen a more freak injury mess a player up so badly

  9. J-FOH says:
    (link)

    With all the players the Phillies got via trade this year I would think it would be a three part series

    • Mike

      Mike says:
      (link)

      for real…there’s a bunch

      • J-FOH says:
        (link)

        @Mike: I wouldnt be opposed with some teams getting more than one or an expanded look

        • Mike

          Mike says:
          (link)

          right on

          • james says:
            (link)

            @Mike:

            The Phillies should almost get 3. One for their own drafted and grown players, one for the guys they traded for, and one for the guys who are now just hitting the bigs they gave away chasing the dream

Comments are closed.